WoW BlueTracker Home | RSS | News | Contact
Recent | Search | Archive | CS Posts
Poster: Magma at 2008-06-28 15:17:21
Subject: fake beta sign up
  
don't accept beleave this email if u get it as well.


Q u o t e:
Greetings!

You are receiving this email to notify you that you are eligible to sign up for beta testing of our exciting new expansion pack, World of Warcraft: Wrath of the Lich King!

The beta testing will run through the summer of 2008 until December 31, 2008! The opening day of the
beta testing has not been released yet. However, you will be notified via email after you sign up
the day it is opened.

During the beta testing you will be able to copy up to three(3) characters and/or automatically create
one(1) character of the new hero class in our Wrath of the Lich King expansion, the Death Knight! We are seeking loyal
customers, previous beta testers, and endgame players to beta test for us.

You have received this email for one of the following reasons:
- You beta tested The Burning Crusade expansion during its testing cycle previously.
- You have been a subscriber since the very early stages of the launch of World of Warcraft.
- You are the guild leader of an endgame progression raiding guild.
- You have previously signed up for Wrath of The Lich King beta testing.
- You are one of the lucky few randomly chosen to test.

You will need to sign up at http://www.worldofwarcraft.com/wotlkbeta/id=327924 to become a member of this
exciting process. If you wish not to sign up for this once-in-a-lifetime opportunity, please disregard this email in its entirety.

Thank you for your time and on behalf of Blizzard Entertainment, we hope to see you enjoying the
testing period of our exciting new expansion, Wrath of the Lich King!

Regards,

The World of Warcraft Team
Blizzard Entertainment


the email came from this address donotreply@blizzard.com

this is just to worn

[ Post edited by Magma ]



  http://forums.wow-europe.com/thread.html?topicId=4672767767&pageNo=1&sid=1#0
 
Poster: Slorkuz at 2008-07-03 04:38:11
Subject: Re: fake beta sign up
  

Q u o t e:
The link in the copy/pasted email gives a 404 error on the worldofwarcraft.com, so I'm thinking that in the email itself it redirected to a different site, which would most likely be a mockup that asks you to log in.


Yes, this email is a fake.

My guess as to why the link is "pointing to worldofwarcraft.com" is that the email he received was an HTML mail where the link's visible text was something "believable" while the actual link pointed elsewhere. When the original poster cut'n'pasted all the text into the forum post box, it did not preserve the formatting of the hyperlink, and it ended up only copying the displayed text.

These kinds of scams are quite common, so be sure to mouse over any hyperlinks received in email that you think might be suspicious and see where they point to in the status bar in the bottom of your browser window before clicking them.

1013

  http://forums.wow-europe.com/thread.html?topicId=4672767767&pageNo=2&sid=1#21
 

Is this thread News or Fluff? You Decide!
News!
- OR -
Fluff!
What are you talking about?

View all recent official Blue Posts

WoW Blue Tracker: Archiving World of Warcraft Blue Posts
since March 2005
Home | RSS | News | Contact
Recent | Search | Archive | CS Posts
 

Why Ads?